Freebie: Open Blue template in Keynote and PowerPoint

It was my birthday last week, a fact I celebrated by going out and splurging on a macbook pro with retina display and a huge amount of memory! Obviously using a mac is very different to using windows, and though I’ve had a desktop mac before I think I’d forgotten most of the shortcuts. As a result I am getting back to grips with Yosemite OS, not forgetting the amazing software available for the mac e.g. Garageband, Keynote and Pages, and loving every minute of it.

While exploring, it occurred to me that I’d never offered a template in Keynote before on my blog, which that was enough to spur me into making one. Keynote is a very different animal to PowerPoint and you can’t just import a new master and colour scheme the way you do in PowerPoint – unless you are importing one of the amazing templates offered with the software. That plus the unfamiliarity meant it took me a while to create something I felt was worthwhile. You can have a first look at what I created below.  It’s a dark theme, with a bold contrast filled with hexagons and rectangles – very clean and simple.

Open Blue

It’s also the first template I’ve done in the 16×9 format rather than the 3×4 format I am more familiar with, but I think it works.  Anyway, let me know what you think. The font used is Open Sans and the icons are from  You can download the two versions of the template here: Keynote, PowerPoint 2010.

Hope it’s useful!

+Alesandra Blakeston

One thought on “Freebie: Open Blue template in Keynote and PowerPoint

Leave a Reply

