Conditional formatting intersect area of line charts

So late last week a colleague came into my office and started doodling on my whiteboard.  He wanted to know if I had a template for showing positive and negative intersect areas of line charts.  Something like this:

area filled intersect

The idea is that when the blue series achieves better results than the red, the colour is blue; when the red series is ascendant, the colour is red.  It’s actually not easy to do.  You can’t just create a positive and negative series and then one underneath that has no fill.  Trust me, I’ve tried.  Better yet, try it yourself, you’ll see exactly what I mean.

The good news, however is that I did have a template.  The work, although amazing, isn’t mine.  It is in fact work by David Merle Montgomery, shown on his blog david @ work, which in itself is inspired by work by the amazing Jon Peltier.

Hat’s off to both of them for the great work.

The link to the original work by David no longer works, but fear not, here it is.

Hope it is useful!

+Alesandra Blakeston

3 thoughts on “Conditional formatting intersect area of line charts

  1. Hi,
    very cool graph. How can I adapt it so that the horizantal axis is a time series? So each data point on that axis reflects a certain day. I’d like to use it so I can compare inflow VS outflow volumes. I’ve been playing around with it a little but I can’t seem to make it work.



    1. Hi Guy,

      Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! Have a look through some of the other charts in the blog, you should be able to combine the techniques to create the chart you want. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

