Blurs and image effects

For those blessed few who have access to Adobe Photoshop – you are probably already aware of gaussian blurs and motion blurs.  In fact, you probably use them regularly!  For those of us who don’t, instagram and other mobile apps have now granted us access and a few of us have been having fun.

My post today though, isn’t how to generate these kinds of blurs, but instead, how these blurs can help you to make effective presentations.  I give the 2 examples below:

quote quote 2

What I was trying to do was to illustrate the following quote: “We must take adventures in order to know where we truly belong.”  I searched for appropriate pictures that would match the essence of the quote, I changed fonts, and I repositioned the text, all to no avail!  No matter what I did, I couldn’t make it work.  So I blurred the image.

Slide8 Slide3

I leave it to you to decide which you prefer.  The first image has a motion blur applied.  It gives a sense of adventure.  The second image has a gaussian blur.  You can still vaguely see the image behind it, though I will probably tweak that blur a little and reposition the text some more before finalizing the presentation.  The idea though is that you get the idea of travelling to a tropical island.

There are probably hundreds of different blurs out there now and you can alter the settings of most to get the most out of the blur effect.  If you don’t have access to photo editing apps with blurs, then I suggest you visit this site:  There are five basic blurs in there along with a lot of other tools.  It may not be the best site, but it’s free and I like it!  You can see the blur, gaussian, and motion blurs effects on each picture in this presentation.


+Alesandra Blakeston

One thought on “Blurs and image effects

Leave a Reply

