There are seven days in a week

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions.  Perhaps it is because I don’t feel the need to wait for a specific date to make changes in my life.  Or perhaps I’ve never managed to actually keep a New Year’s resolution for very long.  That being said, I have been reflecting on the changes that happened in my life in 2013 and what changes may come in 2014.

In 2013, I moved to the US, changed jobs, (and lifestyles), so it’s difficult to see how I can top that in 2014 – even if I wanted to.  My aim, in fact this year will be to prove my worth in my new position and while doing so remain true to myself and my inner truths.  I was asked by friends over the Holiday season why I had made so many changes and how I could do it. Wasn’t I scared?  The fact is that it’s who I am.  I like change.  I enjoy adapting to new things.  Not everyone’s cup of tea, I know.  During one of these conversations though, one of my friends said:

“There are seven days a week, and someday isn’t one of them.”

She was actually answering for me, but frankly, it summed up exactly what I was feeling.  There are 3 ways to cope with the things we don’t like in our lives, one is to sit and complain about it, another way is to wait for others to make the changes for us and the final way is to act. You can wait for a New Year if you wish, or you can simply start on your journey to another destination.

So finally, despite not liking New Year’s resolutions, I’ve altered the look and feel (theme and colour) of my blog and I’m stepping forward on my next journey.  Someday is today!  What about you?

+Alesandra Blakeston

Leave a Reply

