Some really creative XY Scatter charts in Excel

For those of you who are really mathematical, and for those of you like myself who like to see really creative graphs and charts, you might get a kick out of this post by Frankens team:

Creative and advanced chart design in Excel

There are some really great examples on here that I think you will like!  I did anyway.  For each example, you can download the Excel sheet and take a look on how it is done!

My favourites?

barre1 Gomitoli percentage racetrack Spring1


Hope you find them as inspirational as I did!  Their final point?


Please do not regard these charts as a best practice or recommendation. These are just ideas – as in haute couture. You can use if it gives a little “salt” to your work, but always respect the data and your target audience – never forget the basic rules: data derives chart choice.

As it was told by the famous French fashion designer, Coco Chanel:
“Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance.”

Alesandra Blakeston

2 thoughts on “Some really creative XY Scatter charts in Excel

  1. Hi Alesandra, I think these are fantastic! Would like to know how to make them. Just an FYI I just combine my website with my blog on WordPress. I have had a few bugs and my blog has been coming out under I hope to get this fixed soon. Thank you for your continued support. I always enjoy and learn new things for my presentations from your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

